>News & Events>Research and Mission Award to Dr. Richard Harrigan

Research and Mission Award to Dr. Richard Harrigan

Research and Mission Award to Dr. Richard Harrigan

Recognizing the dedication and contributions that staff and researchers make to advance research at Providence, the Research Facilitation Office holds an annual Research Day event to celebrate the accomplishments in research over the year. The event showcases the work of PHC’s major research Centres and departments, and provides an opportunity to network and learn about a relevant and inspiring topic.

On April 24th, the RFO celebrated its 10th annual Research Day, which was held at the Century Plaza Hotel. Approximately 175 people with an interest in research and working in many different areas throughout PHC attended the event. The event opened with welcoming remarks from Dr. Bob Sindelar, VP Research & Academic Affairs and Dianne Doyle, PHC’s President and CEO.

The event featured a keynote address on Big Data from Dr. Martin Kohn, Chief Medical Scientist at Jointly Health. Dr. Kohn, a frequent speaker on the topic of Big Data and based in California, gave an inspirational talk on Big Data, discussing the overarching issues in healthcare experienced in the United States, how data can facilitate issues management, improve decision making and patient experience, and examined the role of technology in enabling evidence-informed, personalized care.

John Brozovich, VP, Mission, Ethics and Spirituality at PHC presented the 2014 Research and Mission Award to Dr. Richard Harrigan, Director of the Research Laboratory program at the BC Centre for Excellence in HIV/AIDS, who then presented an overview of his work in HIV research.

This annual award, administered through the RFO, is presented to an outstanding researcher who leads an exceptional research program at Providence Health Care and also demonstrates our organization’s mission and values. Past recipients include Drs. James Hogg, Peter Paré, Julio Montaner, Thomas Kerr, Adeera Levin, Jim Russell, Bruce McManus, Sam Wiseman, John Webb, Eric Grafstein and Evan Wood.